Wizard Quest 2: Egyptian Chronicles

Posted on November 27, 2011

1


Rated 10+ for creature action and violence

Note: I suggest you first read Wizard Quest: Egyptian Chronicles here.

I have been guarding Morty ever since the quest. Right now, he is drinking coffee in my house. I spotted something moving in the bushes outside my house. I tell Morty to stay inside, and I change my staff into a curved Egyptian sword, and head out.

Three wolves come snarling out of the bushes. I raise my sword in defense. “You have chosen the wrong path, Egyptian scum. You shall pay,” a wolf growled, snapping its jaws menacingly. “No,” I said through gritted teeth,”you shall pay for coming here!” A wolf pounced, arms and legs flexed, howling. A band of warrior mummies and two anubis rush into my house, taking away Morty by the scruff of the neck.

I slash my sword at the wolf, the blade connecting with the rib cage of the wolf. The wolf howled in agony. I rush foward, slicing the air wildly. I defeat the wolves, and rush foward to help Morty. He is struggling with an anubis, trying to manage a spell.

My sword transforms into a staff, a scorpion staff that shoots scorpions at the tip. A scorpion struck an anubis, the pincers flailing at the anubis’s head. Then, a mummy rushes at me, and it swings a spear at my forehead. I blacked out from pain.

I woke up in a house, with my father (a pharoah) watching me. I feel my forehead; it has bandages on it. My father speaks. “You have taken a spear wound. Not many people can survive a spear wound to the head-not even a pharaoh. You, my son, will have to start your quest all over again- this time chasing evil hounds and anubis guards.”

I started the quest early in the morning, packing a sack with a first aid kit, food, and some excess secondary throwing knives. I raised my curved sword, know a staff again, and charged across the city.

When out of the city, I came across a desert with sand dunes. Strange, I thought. I climbed up a dune, and spotted a camp with tents and a camp fire on the horizon. I raced across the sand, the wind stinging my eyes. Along the way, the sand parted, and a 6 foot long rattle snake rose up above me. I grabbed two throwing knives out of my sack, and hurled them at the snake. The knives struck the rattle snake, and the snake buried itself under the sand.

I kept running along the dunes, and then I realized the camp was guarded by wolves. I raised my staff, and struck a wolf. Another wolf pounced, but I was quicker. I dodged the wolf, and struck it in the stomach. It went like that for a few minutes with my staff. Dodge, whack. Dodge, whack-whack. Finally, I left the wolves in the dust, literally, and headed into one tent.

The tent was empty, except for a tea kettle, a chair with sharp, and stained, rusty handcuffs. I hope I’m not too late, I thought. Suddenly, voices shouted over the tent cloth roof. “What happened to the wolves?!” I hurried out of the tent, and nearly bumped into an anubis guard.

I dodged the anubis’s spear, and hurled a knife from my sack at the anubis. The anubis melted into a pile of dust, then it started to re-form itself.

I ran through a maze of tents, stopping into each one, and if Morty wasn’t in one, I moved on, tent by tent. I could see the camp fire ahead. Mummy warriors were dancing in the fire light. Wolves howled, their howl rising in the air, chilling the back of my neck and my spine. The wind ruffled my ruff, dirty blond hair. Next to the fire, tied up like a bundle, was Morty.

I cautiously stepped out and crawled to untie Morty’s bonds. Morty looked up. “You again, coming to rescue me?” he inquired. “Yes, I’ve come to save you again.” I replied. Morty’s bindings finally came loose. All of a sudden, a mummy saw us escaping. “Escaping lemons!” he shouted. Escaping LEMONS? I thought, What are escaping lemons?

We ran together through the maze of tents, wolves, anubis, scorpions, and mummy warriors following us. They were not far behind.

We crossed a sand dune, sand specks flying behind us. A scarab beetle scuttled away into the sand. We rushed on. Morty summoned a curse that turned two mummy’s bandages behind us turn to unraveling toilet paper. A wolf passed me, and stood in front of me, blocking my path. I swung the staff at the wolf, blinding it with crimson light.

I could see city lights ahead of us. A quarter of a mile away…

Everything happened at once. Morty punched an anubis, a wolf pounced on me.  My staff transformed into a curved sword, slicing the night air. A snake bit my foot. Morty sent a scorpion sailing away with a spell. Three mummy warriors charged. I punched and slashed with blades. Scorpion tails whipped wildly in the air. We made it to the city.

My father was waiting for us. He easily swept away the remaining mummy warriors away with the flick of a hand. He patted me on the back, and smiled at me. “You have completed your quest. Again.” he said.